Today was a funny one – I had grand plans for all that I was going to get done, have achieved some of it, but am now absolutely exhausted at 10pm! My morning practice sessions were ok, though not stellar, but by the afternoon everything felt sluggish and heavy. I managed to get some good work done on the CPE Bach (attributed to JS Bach) Sonata in Eb major for our masterclass with Rachel Brown on Thursday, but didn’t feel like I was achieving much with my studies.

So I spent quite a bit of the afternoon working on my flute history assignment, writing about the ocarina and flutes of China, Japan and Korea. It’s really interesting to see all the links between instruments of different countries, and I’m at once enjoying the research and increasingly conscious of the due date!

Hopefully an early night will revitalise me for more practice and writing tomorrow.

