Outside Australia House in London

Outside Australia House in London

Just a short one today. This morning I caught the train up to London and voted in the Victorian state election. I had tried to organise a postal vote, but for a number of reason ended up going to Australia House and voting in person. I’m glad I did in the end, this election has meant the most to me since the first federal election a few months after I turned eighteen. Australia’s system of compulsory voting (technically compulsory attendance at the ballot box, but that’s a technicality) really is a privilege, and the smiling faces I met at the high commission today confirmed that for me.

I spent the afternoon in London, rather enjoying just wandering around Christmas markets and shops rather than sightseeing, and then caught the train up to stay with my lovely friends the Dunks this evening. It feels like being with family, and I’m all set for a bit of a relaxing weekend! Lovely food and wine, good conversation, and even a new kitten to cuddle – heaven?!

