I’d prepared a lot of things for today’s class: two Moyse studies, two Andersen, two Altès and the traverso scale. It seemed that the overriding theme though, with regards to my playing at least, was that no matter how hight I tried to set the bar there was always a but. Here are some selected highlights:

Moyse #9 (theme): Rhythm was now fine (as opposed to last week) but there was no expression.

Moyse #10 (theme): Good forte sound, but the last note was cut.

Andersen #4b: The first four lines were some of my best playing so far, but them the staccato got sloppy.

Andersen #5: “Some quite good playing happening, and not too many wrong notes”, but I wasn’t showing a good enough understanding of the piece’s structure and key changes.

Altès #4: Good articulation, but I was skipping beats because hadn’t learned the notes well enough.

Altès #5: A section fine, but I hadn’t learned the B section fast enough.

Traverso scales of D and C major: Fine, but why couldn’t I play a Bb or G# yet?

I’ve noticed that this teaching method of never being satisfied doesn’t apply to everyone – some of the others were told for this or that piece that “there are some good things coming from your playing” and that was it. I hope this means Trevor can see I’m a hard and keen worker, and that he can push me a bit further than some of the others. The main point that came across today though was that I still need to work a lot on playing expressively rather than trying to follow g musical ‘rules’.

In the evening, I went for dinner (fish and chips!), wine and some good British comedy with the lovely Sue and Paul. It was great to get away from the flute class for a bit, share some laughs and good talk, and generally have a bit of down time. I’m also now two episodes into Cold Feet, and looking forward to more!

